12 Bulawayo councillors recalled

The Minister of Local Government and Public Works Winston Chitando on 18 October 2023 wrote to the City of Bulawayo Town Clerk Christopher Dube informing him of the recall of 12 Bulawayo councillors.

“I wish to inform you that I am in receipt of a letter from the Citizens Coalition for Change (CCC) stating that the following councillors have ceased to be members of the Citizens Coalition for Change political party,’ wrote Chitando.

“In terms of Section 278(1) of the Constitution of Zimbabwe, as read with Section (1)(k), the above-mentioned wards are now vacant.”

The following Bulawayo councillors have been recalled.

1Shepherd Sithole 1
2Nkosinathi Hove-Mpofu 6
3Donaldson Mabutho 9
4Takunda Felix Madzana18
 Simbarashe Dube20
6Tinevimbo Maphosa21
7Thobeka Mmeli22
8Arnold Batirai24
9Sarah CronjePR Councillor
10Mhizha TabethPR Councillor
11Sibanda DorcasPR Councillor
12Zibusiso TshongwePR Councillor

The other councillors who were recalled are Granger Nyoni and Gugu Ncube, both from the Matabeleland South provincial council), Maundura Mbiri (Matabeleland North provincial council), Shantel Chiwara (Masvingo ward 2) and Anna Sande (Epworth provincial council).

The latest recalls come after Sengenzo Tshabangu who claims to be the interim Citizens Coalition for Change (CCC) secretary general recalled 15 CCC parliamentarians saying they were imposed by CCC leader Nelson Chamisa during the candidate nomination process.  

1 comment
Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Related Posts