President appoints Perm Secretaries

The Claim: President Emmerson Mnangagwa has named ministry secretaries.
The Verdict: claim verdict

President Emmerson Mnangagwa has appointed deputy Chief Secretaries, Permanent Secretaries of line ministries and Secretaries for Provincial Affairs and Devolution.

The appointments made on October 6, 2023, were according to the provisions of Section 204A (1) of the Constitution of Zimbabwe.  

In the President’s and Cabinet’s office, there are five deputy chief secretaries: 

Department Deputy Chief Secretary 
Presidential Communications  George Charamba 
Finance, Administration and Human Resources  Zvinechimwe Churu 
Policy Analysis, Coordination and Development Planning Willard Manungo 
Social Services  Rev. Paul Damasane 
Coordination of National Programs and Projects  Eng. Amos Matara 

The following were appointed secretaries for Provincial Affairs and Devolution: 

Province Secretary  
Bulawayo   Paul Nyoni 
Harare   Cosmos Chiringa 
Masvingo   Dr Addmore Pazvakavambwa 
Midlands   Edgars Seenza 
Manicaland   Abiot Maronge 
Mashonaland Central  Timothy Maregere 
Mashonaland East  Tavabarira Kutamahufa  
Mashonaland West  Josphat Jaji  
Matabeleland North   Sithandiwe Ncube 
Matabeleland South  Latiso Dlamini  

26 appointments were made for permanent secretary positions: 

Ministry Permanent Secretary 
Defence   Aaron Nhepera 
Finance, Economic Development and Investment Promotion George Guvamatanga 
Industry and Commerce  Dr. Thomas Utete Ushe 
Public Service, Labour and Social Welfare  Simon Masanga 
Foreign Affairs and International Trade   Amb. James Manzou 
Home Affairs and Cultural Heritage  Amb. Raphael Faranisi  
Justice, Legal and Parliamentary Affairs Vimbai Nyemba  
Women Affairs, Community, Small and Medium Enterprises Development  Dr. Mavis Sibanda 
Energy and Power Development Services  Dr. Gloria Magombo  
Information, Publicity and Broadcasting   Nick Mangwana 
Local Government and Public Works  Dr. John Basera  
Health and Child Care   Dr. Aspect Maunganidze 
Higher and Tertiary Education, Innovation, Science and Technology Development  Prof. Fanuel Tagwira 
Primary and Secondary Education   Moses Mhike 
Skills Audit and Development   Amb. Rudo Chitiga 
Environment, Climate and Wildlife  Dr. Prosper Matondi  
Transport and Infrastructural Development   Eng. Pedzisayi Makumbe 
Sports, Recreation, Arts and Culture   Nicholas Moyo 
Mines and Mining Development   Pfungwa Kunaka 
National Housing and Social Amenities  Eng. Thedius Chinyanga  
Lands, Agriculture, Fisheries, Water and Rural Development  Prof. Obert Jiri 
Information Communication Technology, Postal and Courier Technology Services Dr. Beaullar Chirume 
Veterans of the Liberation Struggle Affairs   Clive Mpambela 
Youth Empowerment, Development and Vocational Training  Solomon Mhlanga 
Tourism and Hospitality Industry   Dr Takaruza Munyanyiwa 
Presidential Affairs in the Office of the President   Tafadzwa Muguti 
Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Related Posts